06 Nov

2nd Annual Poker Tournament…And the winner is

SKN_2012_Poker_ShirtLogoOn Saturday, October 27, 2012, Special Kids Network hosted their Second Annual Texas Hold ‘Em Poker Tournament. The event was held at Fields BMW in Northfield, IL.

This year, 250 participants came out in support of this event raising $135,000. A few local celebrity guests were in attendance that included Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White, Chicago Blackhawks Legend Denis Savard, Chicago Blackhawks Defensemen Steve Montador, & Chicago Blackhawks Left Wing Daniel Carcillo.

The Second Annual Special Kids Network Texas Hold ‘Em Poker Tournament raised awareness & funds this year for Keshet & JDRF. Keshet, the primary beneficiary was founded in 1982 by a small group of parents concerned about the futures of their children with special needs, and looking for ways to provide them with an education and identity.

Keshet remains committed to increasing community awareness about the special needs of children with disabilities, overcoming barriers to integration and community participation, and filling a long-time void of services/programs that could uncover each disabled individual’s unique potential, and facilitate their pursuit of the highest level of independence possible.

Keshet is a nationally recognized, state-of-the-art 501c (3) organization who currently serves more than 300 individuals/families from across the United States through their community-based educational, recreational, and vocational programs for children, teens and young adults with varying and multiple intellectual disabilities. Keshet’s main goal is to enable children with disabilities to participate as fully as possible in their communities.

JDRF was the second beneficiary for this event. JDRF was founded in 1970 and is the leading global organization focused on type 1 diabetes (T1D) research and is also the largest charitable supporter of T1D research. JDRF’s goal is to educate the public about type 1 diabetes, all while helping those living with type 1 today to live healthier, easier, and safer lives until a cure is found.

Special thanks go to co-chairs of the event Brian Batt and Chad Freid, who were instrumental in making this event such a huge success.  Additional thanks go out to President Chad Coe, Vice President Steve Hara, Executive Director Trevor Brody, Secretary/Treasurer Bari Levin and the rest of the board members and volunteers and of course our sponsors at Special Kids Network, Keshet & JDRF.

Winners of the 2nd Annual Poker Tournament are as follows:

1. Christopher Dow ($10,000 WSOP Seat Winner)
2. Ilya Bronstein
3. Chris Murphy
4. Travis Reed
5. David Kite
6. Rich Mathews
7. Barry Paul
8. Bradd Kern
9. Paul Weber